• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Never worked with beta reader

Status
Not open for further replies.

pich313

Dreaming, writing, pursuing.
Registered
Reaction score
I have never worked with a beta reader before. As my need for some grows, I have started to gather a list of people to help, but for those who are not writers, what do I offer in return? I can't just swap novels and return the favor.

robjvargas

Rob J. Vargas
Banned
Reaction score
Do you mean that you're incapable of critiquing someone else's work? Because it's entirely possible that your partner will be seeking "fresh eyes" more than expert ones.

I don't beta read. But I'm more than happy to provide an opinion. Then the other person can give my opinion whatever authority they want based on what they know about me.

pich313

Registered
Reaction score
No. I'm more worried about non-writers. With a writer I would swap manuscripts and offer my critique in return for theirs.

ZerosJourney

Cryptozoologist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
zerojourney.blogspot.com
Cookies.

I don't know. I only have one non-writer beta, and she's a good friend, so all she needs as "payment" is the book I've been keeping all hush-hush about.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
I found most non-writer friends are useless beta readers. They're afraid to hurt my feelings by pointing out the bits they didn't like, or they take it too seriously and nitpick every detail while missing the big picture.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score