Can you publish to Smash words and Amazon at the same time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SunshineonMe

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I know Amazon gives you an ISBN- can you use it at Smashwords? Is it one or the other?

grayworld

Registered
Reaction score
Amazon gives you an AIN (I think that's what it's called) which is only used on Amazon. Smashwords gives you a free ISBN if you publish with them and select the "Free ISBN" option during the publishing process. I only know this because I went through the same rigmarole about three hours ago :).

After you publish with Smashwords while active at Amazon, you have to first go to "Channel Manager" and "opt out" of having Amazon as a distributor (this will prevent your book from being "double listed"). Apparently, that's a bad thing :). Then go to "ISBN Manager" and select the "Free ISBN" option. That's what I did, and it seems to be working fine. Please note that I'm no expert...

Last edited:

WriterBN

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.k-doyle.com
Yes, you can. Just make sure you don't use the amazon channel at Smashwords, though. This also assumes you're not enrolled in KDP Select.

SunshineonMe

Registered
Reaction score
You guys are so patient- thank you!
So, if I just go with Smashwords, it will do send it to Amazon also?
So I don't need to do it at Amazon then...

Last question, it seems like one would want to do Smashwords then, what is the benefit of just doing it through Amazon?

Thank you so much!

Parametric

Registered
Reaction score