Finally getting serious about this writing thing...

Nadja V.

late bloomer
Registered
Reaction score
Hi there,

I've been looking for a forum, less for the social aspects than to be able to pick the brains of those with more experience. I'm 50 (today, in fact) and am finally, with the encouragement of my daughter, writing a novel. I suppose it would be classified a romance, but that's not what I consider the real gist of it. I'm enjoying the research and actually studying the craft of writing for the first time.

By way of introduction, I was born in NYC, moved to Munich at age 8, have lived in Bristol, England, Tucson, Charlotte, NC and am now in rural TN on a mini-farm, homeschooling my 6 kids. I'm a restoration bookbinder by trade and I like music, books and wine...though not necessarily in that order...

LeoKing

Registered
Reaction score
Website
foreverwhere.com
Hi there,

I've been looking for a forum, less for the social aspects than to be able to pick the brains of those with more experience. I'm 50 (today, in fact) and am finally, with the encouragement of my daughter, writing a novel. I suppose it would be classified a romance, but that's not what I consider the real gist of it. I'm enjoying the research and actually studying the craft of writing for the first time.

By way of introduction, I was born in NYC, moved to Munich at age 8, have lived in Bristol, England, Tucson, Charlotte, NC and am now in rural TN on a mini-farm, homeschooling my 6 kids. I'm a restoration bookbinder by trade and I like music, books and wine...though not necessarily in that order...

Welcome, Nadja!

Glad to see your taking steps to get into writing. I dabbled for (too) many years myself before I started getting serious. I think the best piece of advice I can give is the same advice given to me: Write, write, and keep writing. It's just one of those things that you get better at the more you do.