Local Magazine Confuses First-time Freelancer

Witch_turtle

hanging around for a spell
Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I searched the forum but couldn't find anything specific enough to clear up my uncertainty so here I am :)

A couple of weeks ago I submitted a writing sample to a local e-magazine which started up about a year ago, the creators of which are about to begin publishing a print version. They e-mailed back today with interest, but their first question was if I would be willing to contribute on a voluntary basis, or if I am only looking for paid assignments. They then asked what rate I charge per word and how often I would be able to contribute.

First off, I am a complete newbie. Obviously I would prefer to be paid, but I would really like to get some experience/get my name out there. I have no idea how much money to ask for, but I suspect they won't be willing/able to pay a whole lot. I'm also uncertain how to gauge how often I'll be able to contribute, because despite my actual excellence when it comes to getting things done, I have irrational, nightmarish visions of writer's block every time I think about deadlines.

Secondly, I went searching around their newly-redesigned website (which wasn't yet up and running when I subbed), and on their "contribute" page, they state that writing positions are not paid--so why ask me what rate I charge? Are they just hoping I'll offer to do the voluntary thing and submit freelance articles for free?

Thanks in advance for any advice. Due to my looming graduation from university this spring and my recently-begun efforts to break into writing for money, I'm feeling a bit constantly-nervous!

Melina

Getting better all the time
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.atozwordsmith.com