Seeking An Agent Without A Manuscript?

mshean

Worst Unicorn
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.michael-shean.com
Hello there!

I'm an established author who has four contracted books through a small publisher. My third is about to launch in April, leaving my fourth to be completed mid-year. My fifth work is slowly in progress while I work on the fourth, but it will not be completed until the end of the year. What then? Given a platform of three published works under my belt and the fourth to follow, I thought that it would be time to get myself an agent - however, should this be done without a completed manuscript to shop around? Given the connections and resources that agents can bring (to say nothing of the time it can take to get a response!) it would seem logical that now is the time to start, although I have zero experience with agents having gone straight to developing a relationship with my publisher. Does anyone have any advice to share? Thanks very much in advance.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
You have to have a complete manuscript before you go looking for an agent. You might get a request the same day, and if you don't have a MS to send, you're up the creek.

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome to AW!

Wait until you have a completed manuscript to show the agent. The publication credits are good to include in the query letter, but without something ready to hand over, she or he will have nothing to go on. You would be lucky to get so much as "query me again when the book is done."

Go to the Share Your Work forum here, and look for Query Letter Hell, read the sticky threads, and read the ongoing discussions of the query letters. Querying is HARD! I hate it, but it's necessary and the sooner you get your head into how it's done the easier you'll make it for yourself.

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score