My bunny is peeing orange

clee984

Bearded and serious
Registered
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a newbie, I was hoping those with a little more experience could help me out.

So, love books, always have, always will, natch. I've had the secret ambition to be a writer for years and years. I don't talk to anyone about it, family or friends, with the exception of one friend (who I met at university while studying the most unliterary subject of computer science), he also harbours the secret desire to be a writer. I'm very, very shy of showing my work to anyone, but I let him read my stuff and he gives me notes.

A couple of years ago I wrote my first novel (historical fiction). I sent it off to a few places, and one gentleman asked to read the whole manuscript (he's a proper agent, not a vanity publisher, he has some famous clients), and he said.......

"This is one of those submissions where it is easily possible that I am making a dreadful mistake in declining! The story is related from a most unusual perspective and there is much that is original and worthwhile. Overall somehow, it just doesn't grip, though. It should be a real page-turner and for me, doesn't quite achieve that."

I understand it's quite rare to get rejections with positive feedback, and I was very grateful to him for the kind words, they gave me real courage that perhaps I'm not as hopelessly deluded as those poor fools at the early auditions for 'The X Factor".

I wrote a second novel after that, but didn't send that out (it's sci-fi). Now I've written a third, again historical fiction (as if I don't have enough problems already, I'm also a history geek), and I sent that to the same gentleman as before, and this time he said.........

"I really liked this and kept reading for far longer than with less well-written submissions.