Is this normal behavior for an agent?

Ashleythewriter

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I would greatly appreciate help! I am a newbie writer and wrote a novella. I sent out query letters to no avail, but was then personally referred to an agent who works with the major publishing houses and even Disney. I pitched the story to him, he loved it and asked for the manuscript, and back in September he met with one of the major publishing houses in NYC.

Sounds great, right? Well, since September I have not been able to talk to him--his assistant sets up time for us to talk (even at his direction) but he NOT ONCE has honored the time or taken my call. Every month or so his assistant will set up time for us time to talk, but he never follows through. I don't know if he is still interested. I know he is working on a few big projects, but I would think that if he was interested he'd want to connect right away. I call every few weeks to get an update or try to connect, but I don't want to be annoying.

Any suggestions on what his behavior means? Is he still interested, or is his lack of response an obvious sign that he is not going to take on the project? What is a normal kind of timeline for this stuff? As I mentioned, I am new at this, and I have no idea what to think. I am getting disillusioned...especially since he presented my work to a publishing house and I don't know what the outcome/feedback was, and he won't get back to me. Should I give up on him, or keep pushing?

Thanks!

Katrina S. Forest

Registered
Reaction score
Website
katrinasforest.com
I'm a bit confused, maybe some more information would help.

Who referred you, exactly? A personal friend? A fellow author who enjoyed your work? Or some other agent or publisher who rejected you?