Canuck writer says "Hello, eh?"

merlot143

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to the Water Cooler. I just finished my manuscript and now have to sell, sell, sell :( Unfortunately I don't know the American agents at all. That's why I'm trolling the boards. Canadian publishing is pint-sized in comparison.
Any tips, shortcuts? Writer's Digest seems to come out with a list of "top 20 lit agencies" or "top 25 lit agents" but I'm not sure how much stock I should put into them.
Much thanks.

jennontheisland

the world is at my command
Registered
Reaction score
Go to Chapters, find books you like and books like yours (same genre and market) and find out who represents those authors.

Hi.

Snowstorm

Baby plot bunneh sniffs out a clue
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome merlot13! Definitely take some time to learn AW. There's tons of information you need to know. Besides finding agents and publishers for your novel, don't forget about queries and submitting the them and your manuscript. See you 'round the boards.

merlot143

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks all!
Here's my first ignorant question: there's a category about rejections. I know I saw it but I can't find it again.
I just started submitting, so I want to know what I'm in for.

L. Y.

Thread surfer and virtual bartender
Registered
Reaction score
Hello. :welcome: to the Water Cooler!

MsLaylaCakes

Playing the waiting game
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.taraquan.com
Welcome!

I would second jenn's advice - your local bookstore (or your online bookstore) of choice might be the best place to start. I remember I started clicking on books in my genre on amazon, scrolling down to look at the publisher, cross-referencing with the Bewares section of the forum, then going to the publisher's website and looked up submission guidelines. (note: I write in an ePublisher-heavy genre, so I was targeting small but established ePublishers that take unagented submissions.)

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor