Shut up, Inner Editor!

Kaiser-Kun

!
Registered
Reaction score
Or I'll stab you with a Q-tip!

Sheesh. I can't even write a single line without this guy yelling at me "actually, the way it should be is blah blah blah..."

How do you guys shush him?

Kaiser-Kun

!
Registered
Reaction score
Yeah he went down. Silenced him with a sonic blast of MP3.

KateSmash

this was a triumph
Registered
Reaction score
Headphones, loud music, and racing against the timer on my phone. It's pretty easy to keep them quiet when you're trying for your personal best word count in 20 minutes. (Or however long you want. I just go for 20.)

vitani

The Tobermory Hamster
Registered
Reaction score
Told him to feck off, I'd deal with him later. This is my first year doing NaNo. I'm finding it massively liberating just to pour out utter rubbish onto the page.

shadowwalker

empty-nester!
Registered
Reaction score
I listen to him, usually. Every now and then I have to remind him not to be quite so nit-picky, but in general we get along just fine.

amschilling

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amschilling.com
Sent her to the beach where she could get those little umbrella drinks and oogle some men. Worked last year--she came back tanned and not nearly so snarky.

This year she wants to go to Paris. Sheesh. Like I'm made of money? ;)

Srsly, I just didn't let myself go back and retype anything I'd already written. If I had an idea, or realized I had to change something, I made a note at the beginning of the chapter in italics and then went back to writing. It got easier to do as the month went on. I finally convinced myself that first drafts could suck and it was ok--I could fix it later. Plus I reminded myself that editing mid-writing was wasted time. I had no idea if I'd have to change a particular scene again, if the plot went left instead of right. So spending NaNo writing time on polishing something that might get thrown out or radically changed was madness.

CQuinlan

Registered