Tips to succeed?

Julie.G.

Registered
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

I'm trying to prepare myself for NaNoWriMo, it's my first time and it's really important for myself that I succeed, so can you give me some advice on how I do this? What are the most important things I have to figure out in advance?

I'm also dealing with a big dilemma:
Do I choose a fantasy novel whose storyline is figured out but I haven't really managed to figure out the details of my world... Which I think is pretty important? Also knowing that this project has been dragging along for a year now.

Or do I choose a young adult/romance novel with only a couple of ideas and just write and go with the flow?

What do you guys think? Maybe you already noticed that I have a slight preference for the second. I'm also more motivated but i'm really afraid that I will get stuck because I have no clue where the story is going...

KawaiiTimes

Sentient Being
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.KawaiiTimes.wordpress.com
I attempted it a couple years ago and it was a great experience. If I thought I'd have the time to put into it, I'd give it another shot but I think this year my November is booked too heavy as it is.

My advice is to just keep writing! Pacing is really important, it is easy to feel like "Oh, I have another three weeks..." and sluff it off at the beginning. But then you find yourself at the end trying to catch up and if you experience even the slightest block then you are boned.

So just pick a storyline and write it through even if it takes you somewhere unexpected.

Caitlin Black

Wild one
Registered
Reaction score
First off, it might be an idea to do some outlining for the romance story. It doesn't have to be extensive - just enough to give you an idea of what to expect when writing it. It might make your decision easier. :)

Also, tips for succeeding?