Book Proposal query

Pookiestoop

Registered
Reaction score
Hi. Hope 2006 finds ebveryone happy, healthy and successful.

Well...I am writing a memoir for a friend about his life. I have to do a proposal, but I find this process infringes on my creative process, it's dauting and difficult. I'm a creative writer, what the hell do I know about doing a Competitive Analysis and a Marketing Analysis? My question, would it be better for someone like me to inlist support, find a PR person or an editor perhaps to help me through this Analysis process? Or should I take a class? Thanks :cry:

Torgo

Formerly Phantom of Krankor.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
torgoblog.blogspot.com
I find this whole thing baffling. PUBLISHERS ought to be the people who are analysing the market and the competition as part of the acquisitions process. Why people ask for these reports, I don't know.

Who exactly is requiring you to produce these? Is it one particular publisher, or are you working from some sort of model?

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
A competitive analysis is more properly done by the author, because otherwise the publisher would have to know EVERY book by EVERY publisher that is similar to a proposed manuscript that is new and unique to the publisher. After all, the goal of every author is to write something that's different than everything else. But, of course, there's nothing new under the sun, and it's much easier for an author to have an idea of what else is out there similar to their own book than for an acquisitions editor to have an encyclopedic knowledge of every book on the shelf.