• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

American English vs British English

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stanley

Trying to fit in to AW
Registered
Reaction score
Website
freakynotebook.blogspot.com
Hey everyone. I thought there would be already many threads like that, but there wasn't any. I would like to also ask for which one you're using, but it might be against forum rules to start a poll and ask questions on the same thread. :Shrug:

I want to know if they're truly apart from each other. All I know there are small differences like color/colour or traveling/travelling, but let's say for example if I studied with Cambridge's English Idioms book-which I really study- or other books written for British English, would it be too unusual for Americans? I want to learn and write in American English, but I'm in a doubt if it's normal to use books from UK press like Oxford's or Cambridge's ESL books.

I'm talking about written English of course, accents are really different from each other for sure. :D

BigWords

Geekzilla
Registered
Reaction score
Even though I am British I use American English. I find that the SF and fantasy material I write, especially, feel more... correct, somehow. I revert to using British spellings for some horror pieces, as the language of horror feels better in that form. I mix it up for the non-fiction, but as long as you are consistent within one piece (fiction or non-fiction alike), and follow guidelines and house styles, you shouldn't have problems.

I'm sure there was a thread on this a while ago...

Deleted member 42

It's very different. Not mutually incomprehensible, (usually) but different.

If you want to learn American English, you'll need American publications and/or TV.

Idioms are especially going to be different. The shared stock of idioms is mostly derived from The King James Bible and Shakespeare and other pre 1800 authors.

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...