Wondering about ads for data entry and rewriting pages...

writeinsideme

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a newbie that has been looking at different sites for writing jobs. Since I am still working on creating a portfolio of writing material, I thought I might consider just getting out there with little jobs here and there. Some of the ads on the freelance sites are for re-typing 250 pages from one format to another or other similar jobs. Is this a scam or is this really the way some people acquire writing jobs. Also, found several ads for sending in writing work, but you have to pay reading fees of $10-$40 per submission.

I have no problem taking little odds and ends like these if it gets me a little experience with timelines and the act of learning the ropes of rules and expectations that come with writing assignments. However, I certainly don't want to waste time and money on being scammed...as I'm sure anyone in their right mind would understand.

So, is this type of work legitimate or are they just bogus writing gigs that take beginning writers for a ride before they learn the ropes?

Thank you kindly for any advice you can offer on this. I would love to begin supplementing income while I build a portfolio, but I am willing to be patient if these writing gigs are not the way to do it:)

writeinsideme

kimberlycreates

insert witty title here
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kimberlycreates.com
Any "job" that requires YOU to pay money upfront is a scam. Any advertisement promising that you can make easy $$$ writing/freelancing is probably a scam. These are usually people who want to charge you a fee (sometimes even a reasonable fee) to give you information that is already out there free for the taking. Sometimes the information they sell you is simply this: Place an ad stating that you can teach people how to make easy $$$ writing.

Just remember: If it sounds too good to be true, it's probably a scam.