• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Offering my services as a Beta

Status
Not open for further replies.

Discord

Registered
Reaction score
I know it's uncommon to see people offering themselves as beta without asking reciprocation, but my WIP isn't near beta stage yet, and I need a little distance from it for a while. I think getting down into the nitty-gritty of another person's manuscript is a great way to get thinking about the craft of writing and what makes a book good. So I'm thinking of this as an exercise for myself as well as a contribution to the community.

I'm unpublished, but I have a degree in English and a background in creative writing, and am an avid reader with an excellent grasp of story, language, and grammar. At the very least, I can tell you what strikes me about a book, what I enjoyed or didn't enjoy, etc.

So, if anyone has written a contemporary, historical fiction, speculative fiction, or YA novel (the genres I read most often, so will be most helpful on), preferably less than 75,000 words or so (my time is limited) feel free to contact me in this thread or by private message. I can only agree to do one at a time, so I can't promise anything, but if I beta for you I can promise you good feedback and a critical, unhampered analysis.

kkbe

Huh.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kkelliewriteme.wordpress.com
Looking for beta reader.