OK, how can I get started?

ladyvincenza

user-set title
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.sarahtrachtenberg.com
Hi! I would like to write for trade magazines, but have had no luck. I want to try again with another letter of interest, but all my drafts have gotten bad reviews here. Some writers on abs. write said I should query ideas to trades instead. (One person even suggested a write an article on spec and query with that.) Bear in mind that I have no relevant experience or credentials to any trades and am just trying to get into trade mags that I have some interest in.
Is there anyone experienced in trade mags who can help me one-on-one, or is it smart for me to just give up?
Thanks!

ResearchGuy

Resident Curmudgeon
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.umbachconsulting.com

Liz Kelly

Registered
Reaction score
Before you have magazine credentials, look for areas of your life that serve as credentials, which can be especially helpful with small or trade magazines.

For example, a kindergarten teacher might pitch an article to a parenting magazine on discipline strategies that work, citing X years of classroom experience as a credential.

Look at your work history, your personal history, and even where you live. Have you provided in-home care to an aging parent? Renovated a home? Returned to the job market after a long absence?

Does your ethnic, religious or regional background give you a unique perspective on a topical issue?

Write your first queries based on things about which your own life makes you an expert.

After you secure some magazine experience, you can then query with those clips.

I built my magazine credentials one at a time, starting very small. Now I have enough to pick and choose from, only citing the ones that are most relevant to the publisher I'm pitching.

Good luck!

Ali B

Just Hanging Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alinabradford.com