Writing a play with no experience in theatre

Mike TV

Registered
Reaction score
Hi.
I'm looking for advice from users that have experience in the area of playwriting.
I am interested in writing some plays. I have already wrote two drafts (They are very rough drafts), and I have some ideas for other plays.
However, I have no training or experience in the area of theatre other than going to see a number of plays every year. Would not having any experience in directing/stage management/acting be a major hinderence to writing for the stage?

All advice is welcome.

MrFrankenstein

Registered
Reaction score
Off the top of my head:
Just keep writing. The more you write, and the more plays you've seen, the better. Read some of the minimalist guys, Pinter comes to mind - where the dialog is so sparse, its almost nonexistent at times.
You want the audience to be thinking and making up their own minds about your characters - so play with what you reckon your audience is 'seeing,' at times - and then break their preconceptions. (For instance, purely as an example - if its a scene where it appears to be an old man and a young girl - how long can you hide the fact its father and daughter? DO you want to hide this fact? Its a game you can play as a writer constantly with your audience. It forces them to think a little, rather than sit and be spoonfed 'character information.'
Same kind of 'gameplaying' can happen throughout your script, where you make the audience think 'A' and then sideswipe 'em with 'B.'