How do you handle being approached ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

victoryn123

Registered
Reaction score
LA, Paris,or Sydney, it depends on the weather
Hi everyone,
I'm new at this so forgive me in advance if this has been asked and answered before. Here's the deal. I've just started to write- just 2 weeks ago, and I have posted a few chapters of my work on a website. The response has been overhelming to say the least. All positive, and my inbox has been inundated. So far about 20,000 people have read it, people leaving reviews are saying the story is so good, I should charge for it , and I have received 4 different emails from freelance editors offering their services and telling me I should seriously consider publication, 3 from beta readers saying the same thing, and even one from someone telling me they are an agent and want to read the finished manuscript ( which isn't finished, so far, I'm at about 70,000 count words).
This has just happen this week, and I just don't kow how to react. I believe the story is good, and none of my reviewers believe this is my first story ever- they say I have amazing writing skills and I almost believe them. While this is extremely flaterring, I just don't know how to deal.
Should I respond to the freelancers or ignore them and wait until I am done writing? or should I seek representation right now ?
My question is this: what shall I do ?
I don't know if this is the right section to post this, but if it isn't please just let me know where to ask.
Thanks to all !

Last edited:

Buffysquirrel

Registered
Reaction score
I think there are two things you need to do at this stage. Firstly, decide whether you want to go for publication and secondly to tell AWers the names of the editors and agent who've approached you so they can tell what's known about them :).

Last edited:

MartinD

Thought I'd stop by
Registered
Reaction score