A Question For The Academics Who Write Fiction

Status
Not open for further replies.

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
A question for those who work in universities [especially in Lit departments] who write fiction.

I'm entering the CWA Debut Dagger and posted my synopsis. I knew something was wrong with the voice. I'm a final year undergrad, and sure enough my academic voice has bled into the synopsis. I don't have this problem when writing fiction, but writing in a synopsis I have shifted into my academic tone.

How do those of you who do academic work as the 'day job', stop this happening?

Thanks.

whimsical rabbit

Bunned
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an academic yet, but as I'm working on my PhD thesis in the morning and try to write at night, I kind of understand what you mean.

Generally I try to leave a few hours in between. Lately my plan has been to work on the thesis during the week, and write my novel on the weekends. This schedule allows me to clear my head from whatever I've been doing previously and focus on the work in question.

And, I try to keep up with my fiction reading for a couple of hours before I go to bed. This helps keep my head from drowning in all the academic jargon that goes into it day in day out.

Hope this helps a bit.

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an academic yet, but as I'm working on my PhD thesis in the morning and try to write at night, I kind of understand what you mean.

Thanks.

You're ahead of me. I'm currently working on my undergrad dissertation. The MA applications probably aren't helping either. :)

shaldna

The cake is a lie. But still cake.
Registered
Reaction score
Honestly I still struggle with it, especially if I'm working on papers at the same time. It comes out most in queries and synopsis.

Unimportant

No COVID yet. Still masking.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I stick to writing short stories. No synopsis --> no problem :)

kaitie