Status
Not open for further replies.

FranYoakumVeal

Simple gal, complex mind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
franveal.com
I'm new to AW and a newbie writer. I believe God is calling me to write for the secular YA market. My daughter is 12 and I've been appalled at some of the stuff that she and my teen nieces have come home with. Surely one can be edgy without being a vampire, werewolf, or sex kitten. I've finished the first draft of my WIP and I am looking for advice, encouragement and prayer.

Blessings!

Gecko Girl

Frogs in a Bucket
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome to AW! When God calls, it always pays to listen. Congrats on the first draft. That's a wonderful accomplishment. I don't have any advice, but I wish you the best and will certainly say a prayer. I don't write YA (I'm more into romance) but my writing buddy does and she has the same concerns you do. My daughter is 9 and loves to read. I'll have to look for your book- hopefully it will be available when she reaches the target age. Good luck!

P.S. I "followed" your blog.

FranYoakumVeal

Simple gal, complex mind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
franveal.com
Thanks! I "followed" your blog, too.

I'm in the process of deciding how to publish. It's very difficult to break into the commercial market!

Calla Lily

On hiatus
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.aliceloweecey.net
Welcome, Fran.

There are a few basic steps to getting published--you've done the first one: written a book. Congrats! So many people never get to that point.

Now comes the editing. And more editing. And finding good beta readers. "Good" betas are fellow writers--not your family or friends, for the most part, because you want disinterested betas who'll tell you what works and what doesn't.