Status
Not open for further replies.

_Sian_

Ooooh, pretty lights and sirens :D
Registered
Reaction score
Website
antagonistsneeded.wordpress.com
Hey~ Not sure if this is the place for this, but anywho.

Do you ever get this? You're editing, slaving over sentences, trying to make your work good, ect. Then you get to a line, or something a character says, or a plot point, and even if the rest of it was crap, you suddenly think:

I/my characters/my plot/my setting/my climax/my turning point/my prose

is damn brilliant.

I think it's possibly the only thing that keeps me from fading into my cup of coffee when I'm line editing.

Just wondered if anyone else got that :) If so, what was it that made you go: If I was an agent/publisher ect, I would option out movie rights on that "thing" alone.

For me, it's my characters, and one paragraph of prose. That's it - the rest needs a hell of a lot of work.

But that stuff makes it worthwhile:)

CheyElizabeth

My horn can pierce the sky!
Registered
Reaction score
Yes! This happens to me and it's a great feeling. It's typically just one line of brilliance.. but maybe one day it'll be a whole paragraph or chapter, lol.

Stunted

Ich heiße Superphantastisch!
Registered
Reaction score
Ug. This hasn't happened to me in ages. Time to start a new project.

Sage

Supreme Guessinator
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
I was so happy when I edited Hero/Villain, and still loved it. Sure there were scenes I was less excited about, but I just kept getting lost in the story or finding brilliant lines or loving my characters, even the 2nd or 3rd time through.

lvae

oh so shiny
Registered
Reaction score
I think it is a writing thing, what makes me come back and back again, because I love the feeling when everything just comes together and starts making amazing and beautiful sense (to me).