Turned Down by Demand Studios

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeluvdLily

Registered
Reaction score
I was just turned down by Demand Studios. Is there anywhere that I can post my writing sample for feedback from those who actually do write for them? I am not experienced with internet writing but felt that my sample was strong. I have been published in confession mags but obviously I didn't get it just right for Demand.

They did say that due to increased numbers of people applying that they are turning down even some high-quality submissions but still... wah!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:

E. S. Lark

Editing all the time
Registered
Reaction score
The rejection you got is a form rejection. I ended up getting the same thing. I'm working on a few new samples to send. If you google 'get accepted by demand studios' you'll find a few how-to guides.

They pretty much want how-to articles, that are a few sentences for each step and approx. 400 words in length. The resume should show your skills in writing, not your past work history outside of agenting, editing, publishing etc. That is why I was rejected. I sent them an old article I wrote (not how-to), which was too long and a resume showing my past work history (receptionist, cashier etc).

Some folks say if you reapply, use a different e-mail address. I'm going to work on a few samples, wait a couple of months and try again.

mada

Getting back in the groove
Registered
Reaction score
I wouldn't say your resume can only show writing skills. Mine had none on it, but I highlighted my work history and did a how-to article that directly related to my history and my life.

I think it's definitely to your advantage to read some articles to figure out what they are looking for before writing an article to submit.

jana13k

Yep. I can.
Registered
Reaction score