Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: "DNS Server Is Not Responding", "DNS Server Doesn't Exist".

  1. #1
    Banned Margarita Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
    Posts
    2,369

    "DNS Server Is Not Responding", "DNS Server Doesn't Exist".

    Royal pain in the derriere.


    I don't know what the heck the DNS server is. It's so difficult for me to connect to the internet because of that. Today I spent the whole day, from like 9:45 AM trying to connect and I didn't connect till today around 8:13 PM. It kept giving me the same message, "DNS Server is not responding" and then on the "detailed information" link it would tell me, "Your computer is trying to connect to a DNS server that is incorrect or doesn't exist." I'd been using DSL since 2003 and I'd never had that problem before. It started when I got my new laptop back in Jan 3, 2010, but in the beginning it would only happen every once in a while. I would restart the modem and restart the computer. Problem solved. Now, it happens all the time. I spend the whole day trying to connect and fail. Has this ever happened to any of you before? Thanks for your help in advance. You guys know how awesome you are.


    Love
    Magali.

  2. #2
    ~~~~*~~~~ backslashbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    12,461
    You probably need to update the drivers for your modem -- and the firmware, usually.

    What is the name of the program you use to get on the net? Not the browser, like Internet Explorer, but the part that shows lights, etc when you are connected?
    It's Woman, by Kraft. All your favourite classic flavours like virgin, whore, damsel, black widow and now all-new feminazi! Extra spicy!
    --
    BunnyMaz

    Did you just Godwin a 4 year old?
    -- Celia Cyanide


    I've walked these streets in the madhouse, asylum they can be
    Where a wild-eyed misfit prophet on a traffic island stopped
    And he raved of saving me

    Please donate or volunteer: http://www.karmakrew.org/Home_Page.html

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    48,015
    Sounds like the problem I'm having with my laptop.

    But updating drivers isn't possible if your computer refuses to connect to the internet at all.

  4. #4
    "Assume Good Intentions" SuperModerator Williebee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    youtu.be/QRruBVFXjnY
    Posts
    19,178
    Magali

    Call your service provider. They should be providing DNS resolution for you.

    DNS, the 60 second version -

    Remember Ernestine the Switchboard Operator, from Laugh In? Ever heard of a telephone cross directory?

    That's what DNS does. You enter in a website address and DNS knows the location for it, and goes and gets it for you.

    You see, things that connect to the internet get an address (IP, or internet protocol address.) -- Your computer, my phone, that website, that email server... that online video camera...

    DNS servers keep track of those numbers and the names they relate to. Then they regularly tell each other what addresses they know, and keep track of what the other DNS servers know.

    When the DNS server that provides this information to your machine dies, gets balky, or loses it's mind, you can get those errors.

    Also, when the website you are trying to find stops telling ITS DNS server what its address is, that DNS server takes it off the list and stops telling the world about it. Eventually, the world can't find that website anymore.

    Make sense?

    Williebee -- Who frantically rebuilt a dead DNS server last week. grrrrr

    "There's a Voodoo Game on in the Crescent City. Pray for the Pawns."

    "Murder at the Beach" -- Anthony Award Nominated Anthology!

    Available now where all kinds of cool books are sold.
    Kobo Kindle Nook iBook
    More stories by Eldon Hughes -- "I Found A Knife"

    Read the Newbie Guide.

    "We are writers; we own our words. Please choose yours to add light and not just heat."

  5. #5
    ~~~~*~~~~ backslashbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    12,461
    Quote Originally Posted by scarletpeaches View Post
    Sounds like the problem I'm having with my laptop.

    But updating drivers isn't possible if your computer refuses to connect to the internet at all.
    Yeah, I had to find my Sierra Wireless stuff from a different computer and use a flash drive.

    They weren't real DNS errors, btw. It was wonky firmware. It depends on how your PC gets its IP address, too.

    Basically, I could get on fine after a reboot. That was a hint to try the software route, imho.

    But of course it could be one of many things, as usual with these things!
    It's Woman, by Kraft. All your favourite classic flavours like virgin, whore, damsel, black widow and now all-new feminazi! Extra spicy!
    --
    BunnyMaz

    Did you just Godwin a 4 year old?
    -- Celia Cyanide


    I've walked these streets in the madhouse, asylum they can be
    Where a wild-eyed misfit prophet on a traffic island stopped
    And he raved of saving me

    Please donate or volunteer: http://www.karmakrew.org/Home_Page.html

  6. #6
    Inclined to eclectic eccentricity
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    490
    You could also switch to OpenDNS...I was having a lot of DNS issues on my cable modem until I did that. It is free and generally more up to date and has a better uptime than some of the ISP ones.

  7. #7
    Banned Margarita Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
    Posts
    2,369
    Quote Originally Posted by backslashbaby View Post
    You probably need to update the drivers for your modem -- and the firmware, usually.

    What is the name of the program you use to get on the net? Not the browser, like Internet Explorer, but the part that shows lights, etc when you are connected?
    I am not able to connect to the net at all sometimes, and sometimes when I'm on a website and I click on a link...BOOM! The modem turns off by itself.


    Quote Originally Posted by scarletpeaches View Post
    Sounds like the problem I'm having with my laptop.

    But updating drivers isn't possible if your computer refuses to connect to the internet at all.
    Word. Give that girl a point. I am glad to know that I'm not the only one going through this.


    Quote Originally Posted by Williebee View Post
    Magali

    Call your service provider. They should be providing DNS resolution for you.

    DNS, the 60 second version -

    Remember Ernestine the Switchboard Operator, from Laugh In? Ever heard of a telephone cross directory?

    That's what DNS does. You enter in a website address and DNS knows the location for it, and goes and gets it for you.

    You see, things that connect to the internet get an address (IP, or internet protocol address.) -- Your computer, my phone, that website, that email server... that online video camera...

    DNS servers keep track of those numbers and the names they relate to. Then they regularly tell each other what addresses they know, and keep track of what the other DNS servers know.

    When the DNS server that provides this information to your machine dies, gets balky, or loses it's mind, you can get those errors.

    Also, when the website you are trying to find stops telling ITS DNS server what its address is, that DNS server takes it off the list and stops telling the world about it. Eventually, the world can't find that website anymore.

    Make sense?

    Williebee -- Who frantically rebuilt a dead DNS server last week. grrrrr
    I knew nothing about this. Thank you so much. I know so much about DNS now. You've been a great help!


    Quote Originally Posted by backslashbaby View Post
    Yeah, I had to find my Sierra Wireless stuff from a different computer and use a flash drive.

    They weren't real DNS errors, btw. It was wonky firmware. It depends on how your PC gets its IP address, too.

    Basically, I could get on fine after a reboot. That was a hint to try the software route, imho.

    But of course it could be one of many things, as usual with these things!
    Thanks for sharing your personal experience!!!


    Quote Originally Posted by Collectonian View Post
    You could also switch to OpenDNS...I was having a lot of DNS issues on my cable modem until I did that. It is free and generally more up to date and has a better uptime than some of the ISP ones.
    Is that software or hardware? I'm going to look it up and then come back and tell you how it went. Wish me luck.

  8. #8
    The grimflits are out to get me Matera the Mad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin's (sore) thumb
    Posts
    12,188
    OpenDNS
    Software, yes. Of course you have to get connected first.... Best to bug your service provider first. That's what you're paying them for.
    Inspiration can be as destructive as any other form of fire.

  9. #9
    Cultus Gopherus MacAllister SuperModerator Medievalist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    An meodoheall monig dreama full
    Posts
    25,533
    A number of cable modems require that you hand-enter at least two DNS addresses (IP numbers) from your ISP.

    In other words, call the ISP.

    It's possible as well that you have an ailing modem.

    AW Admin
    About.Me
    AWers On Twitter
    Lisa L. Spangenberg
    My opinions are my own. | Who else would want them?

  10. #10
    "Assume Good Intentions" SuperModerator Williebee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    youtu.be/QRruBVFXjnY
    Posts
    19,178
    "ailing modem" Medi - is that what that guy in your avatar has going on?

    "There's a Voodoo Game on in the Crescent City. Pray for the Pawns."

    "Murder at the Beach" -- Anthony Award Nominated Anthology!

    Available now where all kinds of cool books are sold.
    Kobo Kindle Nook iBook
    More stories by Eldon Hughes -- "I Found A Knife"

    Read the Newbie Guide.

    "We are writers; we own our words. Please choose yours to add light and not just heat."

  11. #11


    Not helpful to OP

  12. #12


    3....2....1....

  13. #13
    Banned Margarita Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
    Posts
    2,369
    Quote Originally Posted by Matera the Mad View Post
    OpenDNS
    Software, yes. Of course you have to get connected first.... Best to bug your service provider first. That's what you're paying them for.
    Thank you for the link! I am going to try that.


    Quote Originally Posted by Medievalist View Post
    A number of cable modems require that you hand-enter at least two DNS addresses (IP numbers) from your ISP.

    In other words, call the ISP.

    It's possible as well that you have an ailing modem.

    Yes, everyone that I tell about the problem tells me that my modem might be sick.

    Quote Originally Posted by Williebee View Post
    "ailing modem" Medi - is that what that guy in your avatar has going on?


    Quote Originally Posted by petec View Post


    Not helpful to OP
    ?


    Quote Originally Posted by petec View Post


    3....2....1....

    Ban who, me? What did I do wrong?

  14. #14
    Originally Posted by petec


    Not helpful to OP

    ?


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by petec


    3....2....1....

    Sorry sorry all.

    Posted in the wrong place.

    Wrong message board even.

    Too many tabs open at one time!!

    Pete

  15. #15
    Banned Margarita Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
    Posts
    2,369
    Quote Originally Posted by petec View Post
    Sorry sorry all.

    Posted in the wrong place.

    Wrong message board even.

    Too many tabs open at one time!!

    Pete

    Oh, ok. When I saw your replies I got scared for a minute there because the last thing I wanted to do was to offend anyone.

  16. #16
    Banned Margarita Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
    Posts
    2,369
    I am using OpenDNS now! Thanks, guys!!

  17. #17
    Cultus Gopherus MacAllister SuperModerator Medievalist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    An meodoheall monig dreama full
    Posts
    25,533
    If you got the modem from your ISP, they should replace it if it is in fact the problem.

    Cable modems are being improved rapidly, still, so one that's two years old is already out of date. Sometimes the cable company improves the bandwidth, and an older modem can't cope.

    AW Admin
    About.Me
    AWers On Twitter
    Lisa L. Spangenberg
    My opinions are my own. | Who else would want them?

  18. #18
    Brilliant!

    I am so pleased for you.Maybe you should now go to your router admin console (http://192.168.1.1) and record all the details. If you do not know user name and password, this may help,

  19. #19
    Banned Margarita Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
    Posts
    2,369
    Quote Originally Posted by petec View Post
    Brilliant!

    I am so pleased for you.Maybe you should now go to your router admin console (http://192.168.1.1) and record all the details. If you do not know user name and password, this may help,

    I am only going to use it for 1 day because I am leaving for Florida tomorrow night and by tomorrow morning my computer will be packed up so today I got to do the most words I possibly can.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Custom Search