Greetings!

jjbenedict

Registered
Reaction score
Website
jjbenedict.wordpress.com
Hello everyone,

Like many other newbies, I found this forum so incredibly useful that I just had to join and start interacting with the community.

I'm a teacher (but probably not for long) who is very disenchanted with the educational system and I've used writing as an outlet to deal with that.

I recently completed a novel and am in the process of sending out query letters to agents. Specifically, I'd like some feedback on the letter, but generally I hope that I can receive advice, constructive criticism, encouragement, and support from my fellow writers as I try to find success as an author.

J.J.B.

jvc

Fearsome Dragon Mod
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings and welcome to the watercooler :welcome:

If you need some general feedback or critique on your writing, you can post some in our Share Your Work forum (the password is vista). The critiques can be harsh sometimes ... but honest, so prepare yourself for that. Everyone means well, though. Their goal is to get you the best novel/story/article possible and to get it published. You could also critique some of the other members' work too. It is surprising how that can help with you own. Check out the how-to guide threads in Main Share Your Work sub-forum, then post your material in one of the genre sub-forums.

If you want some feedback on your query letter you could try posting yours in the Query Letters & Synopses part of the Share Your Work Forum (password is vista).

In the meantime, take a wander around the various forums, there's lots to see and lots to learn, and even some fun threads too. Come along and pop on over to the Traditional Irish Pub (at the top of the Newbie forum) and say hi, there's plenty of friendly faces that you can chat with and lots of banter. There's also the Question of the Day threads at the top of the Newbie forum where you can answer random questions.