• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Is it possible to be great at fiction but suck at non-fiction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skye Jules

March 15th: Issue 1 release
Registered
Reaction score
I've been wondering this for a while. I don't suck at non-fiction, but some girl in my creative writing group claims she is good at fiction but terrible at non-fiction. I'm not fighting against her claim either. I just want to know what all of you think. I realize they are completely different, of course, but I just want to know your take on it.

I'm merely asking because I've noticed that a lot of well-established fiction writers write essays about themselves in relations to their writing lives.

Is it possible?

Danthia

Totally. Different skill sets are involved in each. I know plenty of non-fiction writers who say they can't do fiction, and I'm a fiction writer who can't do non-fiction.

S.J.

Addict? I can quit whenever I want!
Registered
Reaction score
Yes, definitely. They require different skills, and a different tone and style. When writing stories, you are encouraged to 'show, not tell' and let the readers figure things out for themselves. Essays and similar are the opposite: the idea is to present ideas as succinctly and eloquently as possible. (In my opinion, at least...).

However I believe that one can help the other; if you're good at non-fiction writing - e.g., essays - then it might mean your fictional writing follows a more logical order. However it might not help so much the other way round... my English teacher used to hate my essays because they read like stories, for example.

Okay, so this turned into a mini-essay... :D Whatever.

Libbie

Worst song played on ugliest guitar
Registered
Reaction score
Yeah. I'm great at fiction (in my opinion) and I suck at non-fiction, so yes, in my experience, it definitely is possible.

Libbie

Registered
Reaction score