AW Amazon Store

If this site is helpful to you,
Please consider a voluntary subscription to defray ongoing expenses.


 

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: [Agency] Sheil Land Associates Ltd. (UK)

  1. #1
    New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37

    [Agency] Sheil Land Associates Ltd. (UK)

    Does anybody have a web site address for this agency? I am trying to find out what their policy is on simultaneous and multiple submissions. Any help would be most appreciated. Please email me at finaidir@yahoo.com. Thanks.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    37

    Many thanks!

    Thanks a bunch!
    pensinparadise

  4. #4
    figuring it all out Repunzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    75
    I'm sorry to barge into this discussion, but I need help getting to the thread on Sheil Land. Can't for the life of me figure out how to do that and I have a question.

    Thanks everybody

  5. #5
    Mostly Harmless SuperModerator CaoPaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Coastal Desert
    Posts
    13,105
    *poing*

    But for future reference, the Index is here.
    Last edited by CaoPaux; 07-23-2009 at 04:53 AM. Reason: Gaah!
    ICAO
    ---------

    Censorship always defeats its own purpose, for it creates in the end the kind of society that is incapable of exercising real discretion. -- Henry Steele Commager
    Achievers strive for excellence. Perfectionists drive themselves to extinction. -- A Grapple A Day
    I've never known any trouble that an hour's reading didn't assuage. -- Charles DeSecondat

    II 2016: 2017:

  6. #6
    figuring it all out Repunzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    75
    Thanks CaoPaux. But, of course, the link doesn't work for me.

    When I sign in, I know how to get here, but not where on that list to go to get to "The List."

    Anyhow, my question relates to sending an equery to Ian Drury who says equeries are fine on PM and gives an email address. Problem is, even when I type "Query" in the subject line, email bounces and server tells me that email address thinks its SPAM.

    Anyone else had this experience? Know how to get around it? Thanks.

  7. #7
    Mostly Harmless SuperModerator CaoPaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Coastal Desert
    Posts
    13,105
    Gak, fixed link. The Index is stickied to the top of the main B&BC page.
    ICAO
    ---------

    Censorship always defeats its own purpose, for it creates in the end the kind of society that is incapable of exercising real discretion. -- Henry Steele Commager
    Achievers strive for excellence. Perfectionists drive themselves to extinction. -- A Grapple A Day
    I've never known any trouble that an hour's reading didn't assuage. -- Charles DeSecondat

    II 2016: 2017:

  8. #8

  9. #9
    here and there again
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    193
    I'm not finding specifics on their website re: which agents rep which kinds of books. It looks like to submit, one must send the forbidden "To whom it might concern," query?

    http://www.sheilland.co.uk/Sheil_Lan...s/Welcome.html

  10. #10
    Mostly Harmless SuperModerator CaoPaux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Coastal Desert
    Posts
    13,105
    Updating URL: http://www.sheilland.com/

    Y'all might recall she was among the first to launch an ebook imprint (Peach Publishing) to publish clients' backlists, which sparked quite the kerfuffle with Random House (Bookseller article).
    ICAO
    ---------

    Censorship always defeats its own purpose, for it creates in the end the kind of society that is incapable of exercising real discretion. -- Henry Steele Commager
    Achievers strive for excellence. Perfectionists drive themselves to extinction. -- A Grapple A Day
    I've never known any trouble that an hour's reading didn't assuage. -- Charles DeSecondat

    II 2016: 2017:

  11. #11
    What happened to my LIFE?! childeroland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,757
    Does anyone know if they take attachments, or do they want your pages in the body of the email?
    Perhaps the most amazing thing about the universe is that we could create an infinite catalogue of things, worlds and beings that no one has seen and which do not exist. Each story in the realm of fiction is a small part of that catalogue.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by childeroland View Post
    Does anyone know if they take attachments, or do they want your pages in the body of the email?
    I sent last week as attachments - I can't imagine anyone easily using an email that contains a query, cv, synopsis, and first 50 MS pages.

    The requests I've seen to specifically paste material into the email body have been for much smaller samples than that.
    The world's largest - and friendliest - science fiction and fantasy forums: https://www.sffchronicles.com

    For fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan, George R R Martin - a new epic fantasy series begins:

    http://www.chroniclesofempire.com/






  13. #13
    I come in peace Earthling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    785
    I also sent attachments and it was fine. A rejection, but a polite one.

  14. #14
    What happened to my LIFE?! childeroland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,757
    Cool. Thanks.
    Perhaps the most amazing thing about the universe is that we could create an infinite catalogue of things, worlds and beings that no one has seen and which do not exist. Each story in the realm of fiction is a small part of that catalogue.

  15. #15
    I come in peace Earthling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    785
    Good luck both of you with your submissions. I heard back within four days (queried 24 Jan, rejected 28 Jan) so they seem to be moving fast at the moment. Got my fingers crossed for you.

  16. #16
    What happened to my LIFE?! childeroland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,757
    Does "full synopsis" mean a one-page or a longer one?
    Perhaps the most amazing thing about the universe is that we could create an infinite catalogue of things, worlds and beings that no one has seen and which do not exist. Each story in the realm of fiction is a small part of that catalogue.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by childeroland View Post
    Does "full synopsis" mean a one-page or a longer one?
    They specifically ask for a 1 page synopsis:
    http://www.sheilland.com/#!book-submissions/c217l
    The world's largest - and friendliest - science fiction and fantasy forums: https://www.sffchronicles.com

    For fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan, George R R Martin - a new epic fantasy series begins:

    http://www.chroniclesofempire.com/






  18. #18
    What happened to my LIFE?! childeroland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,757
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian G Turner View Post
    They specifically ask for a 1 page synopsis:
    http://www.sheilland.com/#!book-submissions/c217l
    I know, but the guy who replied to me wrote "full". Is it customary to refer to a one-page as a full?
    Perhaps the most amazing thing about the universe is that we could create an infinite catalogue of things, worlds and beings that no one has seen and which do not exist. Each story in the realm of fiction is a small part of that catalogue.

  19. #19
    I come in peace Earthling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    785
    Quote Originally Posted by childeroland View Post
    I know, but the guy who replied to me wrote "full". Is it customary to refer to a one-page as a full?
    He means it should include the ending - lots of people mistakenly leave the synopsis on a cliffhanger.

  20. #20
    What happened to my LIFE?! childeroland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,757
    Gotcha. Thanks again.
    Perhaps the most amazing thing about the universe is that we could create an infinite catalogue of things, worlds and beings that no one has seen and which do not exist. Each story in the realm of fiction is a small part of that catalogue.

  21. #21
    New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1

    Question Sheil Land Associates Literary Agents

    Hello, I'm Maverick, and have just joined the Absolute Write Water Cooler forum. I've been wondering if a forum exists for Sheil Land Literary Agents, as I submitted a synopsis and sample chapters of my dystopian, science fiction / fantasy novel, "Poisoned Trees & Yellow Grass," to them nearly 7 weeks ago. They did not state a time limit for which I should wait for a response from them, and I wondered how much longer I should wait before trying another literary agent. I hear Yasmin Standen handles novels of all kinds of genres, and thought I might try her next. I wrote another dystopian novel, "The Down & Outs," years ago, but turned my back on writing for over 20 years because the agent who had just agreed to represent it suddenly died, and his successor wasn't interested in representing the book, which I eventually self-published in 2013.

  22. #22
    Barricade AW Moderator regdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    To Punish and Enslave
    Posts
    52,114
    Porting to Bewares and Backgrounds
    My Blog-Updated on 10/9/14 An Open Letter To Hasbro

    Stop by the Weekend Progress Report to brag about your weekly writing accomplishments

    Help find Tracey Cooeedownunder's sister is missing

  23. #23
    pretending to be awake onesecondglance's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,571
    Hi maverick,

    I submitted to Sheil Land back in 2014 and it took a little over 16 weeks for their response. However, there is no need for you to wait for a response before you query other agents.

    I'm pretty sure there's a main thread for Sheil Land somewhere around here, so perhaps a helpful mod will merge these replies there.

    EDIT: Ah, here it is: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/show...s-Ltd-%28UK%29
    Λrchangel: near-future SF noir
    Perpetual Midnight: basically all those cool nightclub scenes from SF movies with some sort of plot, idk | [first draft underway!]
    I write music. | I gave in and joined twitter.

  24. #24
    Such a nasty woman SuperModerator Old Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In chaos
    Posts
    21,555
    I very recently got a form rejection from them about three weeks after I submitted, but that was after I'd let them know I had an offer from another agent.

    They're a good agency, and worth waiting for.

  25. #25
    Who's going for a beer? waylander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,679
    You should not be querying agents one at a time and waiting for a respose before querying the next on your list, that way madness lies! I am a client of Shiel Land and on occasions it can take 3 months for me to hear back about a new manuscript.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Custom Search