Writing Prompts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gretad08

Registered
Reaction score
Has anyone ever used a writing prompt that led to an amazing story? Maybe one that you were paid for?

Last edited:

Cranky

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Not yet. But working on it. :D Not exactly the glowing recommendation I'm sure you were hoping for, but it's what I've got. LOL

Gretad08

Registered
Reaction score
I'm really more curious as to what people's methods are for getting started with a story. Writing prompts, dreams, real life experiences etc.

Yesterday I started a story from a writing prompt and it's turning into something I really love. I've never done that before, and I think I'm definitely gonna try again.

TheIT

Infuriatingly Theoretical
Registered
Reaction score
I've been using the monthly prompts in the SF/F forum to work out the back history of my novel universe. It's amazing what can spring from a one-word prompt.

Cranky

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm really more curious as to what people's methods are for getting started with a story. Writing prompts, dreams, real life experiences etc.

Yesterday I started a story from a writing prompt and it's turning into something I really love. I've never done that before, and I think I'm definitely gonna try again.

In that case, then, my answer is "yes". I've gotten a couple of pretty good (IMO) stories from prompts, including one I'm working on right now and another I've got waiting in the wings.

cathyfreeze

I lost my fever! I need it back!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I've got a handful and a half stories started from a very nice book of prompts. They're not one-word prompts, tho--they're very challenging and intriguing prompts, and they often are about exercising specific writing muscles or tools.

I've only posted 3 stories here for crit, and they all came from that book's prompts.