working in character descriptions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nell

Registered
Reaction score
How do you work in character descriptions(looks) with out it sounding like planted almost forced info? Also how long should it be before you describe the characters looks in a story?

Thanks

Nell

bettielee

I'm a sparkly fairy princess!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
bettielee.wordpress.com
Practice. I am sorry if that sounds flippant, but really, the more you write, the easier I think it gets. POV comes into this, of course, because if you are inside the characters head, its strange to describe the pretty girl with the big blue eyes, unless she looks in a mirror. Or have another character looking at them.

Then again, how incredibly important is it? Some will say you don't have to at all, but personally, when I read a book, I like having an idea what the characters look like, so as a writer, I like to sprinkle in things that give you an idea, like having a girl brush her long, red hair. I have one character that the only description I give of him is that he has sandy hair, and that is because where he lives, mostly everyone has black or dark brown hair. You don't need to go into super detail, just sprinkle in a few here and there. You never need to give a freckle by freckle rundown, even if you know all that.

Nell

Registered
Reaction score
That is really helpful thanks!
nell

LuckyH

Oh, really?
Registered
Reaction score
The main characters need to be described, but not all at once, although it is sometimes necessary to focus on a part of the description needed for immediate impact, I'm struggling to think of an example: an enormously strong man, able to lift a car off a trapped accident victim. Sorry, if it's a tame example.