Buy books by AWers

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Thread: Industry Publishers

practical experience, FTW gogoshire's Avatar

Industry Publishers

Found a proofreading job on Craigslist today with Industry Publishers. Has anyone heard of them?

I wrote a letter, sent my resume, and was sent an email with 2 attachments: the 1st explaining the job and the 2nd the first file to be proofed.

In the first attachment, payment is explained, and it sounds odd to me, but I'm new to this.

Here are the directions:
    At the completion of the job, please prepare an invoice that includes:

Your name or company name
    Your social security number or tax ID number
    Your physical address and e-mail address
    A description of the work, the total number of addresses, and the total amount due
    Your signature

Invoices may be mailed or e-mailed.

Payment will be made within thirty days of invoice by check or PayPal. Please indicate your preference when you send your invoice.

Does that seem legit? I guess I'm nervous because I can't find them on the web anywhere. The email domain is industrypublishers.com, and when I type www.industrypublishers.com, I'm taken to importitaly.com. Odd, eh? Granted, the proofreading job is in Italian.

Want to know what you think.

Thanks,
    Maureen
    It's not just a place to live. It's a bad place to live.
    Mind Boggling Trivia of Gritty Portland

Gone
    gogoshire, in cases like this, the first question I ask myself is, "Do I feel comfortable giving these people my Social Security Number?" If the answer is "no," there's no need to go further.

practical experience, FTW