Where does cover-art come from?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marzipan

Registered
Reaction score
Please forgive me,(and feel free to spin me in the correct direction and spank my bottom for asking a dumb question) i've looked in several places for this question and i'm very new to Absolute Write but this question has bothered me for ages. Where does cover-art come from for novels, books etc. I know the obvious answer is 'an artist', but who slaps the art onto the cover of a novel? Can the writer possibly have the art commisioned themselves or, if that is not the case and the writer dosen't want to bother, will the publisher do this?

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
I asked a question very close to this myself, so no slaps for you from me :)

Basically cover art is done by an artist hired by the publisher. Sometimes the author gets a say in it, sometimes they don't.

Deleted member 42

Mostly the author doesn't get a say.

Sometimes the art is generic, purchased in advance.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score
I was asked by both my publishers to state my thoughts on cover art. The first publisher was happy with my idea and the photo I supplied (see the cover on this post). The publisher's artist dramatised it and added the figures. I haven't seen the second publisher's covers - the book is published in Canada end of April '09. But they seem to be going with a similar theme. I'm happy about this because a vivid and interesting cover is a huge advantage when book-signing.

Marzipan

Registered
Reaction score
Thank you so much for clearing that up guys. I had an artist in mind for my WIP but now that I really think about it I guess it dosen't matter so much. I'm kinda glad I don't have to deal with it as of now or ever really.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score