Entry-Level Sailing Ship Jobs

AZ_Dawn

AW Addict
Registered
Reaction score
Yep, need help with some backstories. Basically I need to know what you'd have to start out doing if you wanted to become a sailor, merchant or navy, in the 17th-18th Centuries. Thanks!

Doogs

Registered
Reaction score
Website
doogs.wordpress.com
Swab the deck? Help load/offload cargo? Lug shot for the cannons, sponge out the barrels between shots to keep them cool?

Also, I have no specialized knowledge in this area, but menial labor is menial labor. May be worth checking out Discovery's Deadliest Catch to get a sense for the non-crab fishing tasks they put the greenhorns through.

Inarticulate Babbler

Pissin' Everyone off, 1 at a time
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Swab the deck? Help load/offload cargo? Lug shot for the cannons, sponge out the barrels between shots to keep them cool?

Also, I have no specialized knowledge in this area, but menial labor is menial labor. May be worth checking out Discovery's Deadliest Catch to get a sense for the non-crab fishing tasks they put the greenhorns through.

Way different on square rig ships than on the fishing boats (including trawlers) today. On the old ships everyone took a turn as helmsman, some were specifically topmen (those that walked the yards--or yard arms), Bosun, purser, line men (which haul, clew and belay the lines), carpenters and fo'c'stle (forecastle) men. Most ships wouldn't take a lubber aboard unless he was pressed (drafted the hard way, awakened in the middle of the night and Shang Haied{sp?}), and then they would team 1 pressed man with 2 experienced. Useless men had no place on most full- or square riggers.

pdr

Banned
Reaction score
Could you please...

give us a little more detail.

Which country's navy?
Which country's merchant shipping?
What date please as there is a big difference between 17thC ships and the 18thC as well as between the national navies of the time?