Bad experience with new editor early on

starrykitten

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I'm sure this is a pretty old story, but I'm still pretty new to freelancing. I'm not sure if there's anything to be done or if I just want to talk about this to sympathetic people. Sorry for the longish story.

Anyway, I'm freelancing for a magazine that I really like, which is a good thing. There's no pay, but it could be a great career-booster. I had some mixed feelings about the editor back when we were just chatting and she was explaining how they liked to do things. I asked a quick question and she gave me a really long response that made me feel stupid, but I thought I was just being oversensitive.

Yesterday, though, was a definitely bad experience and I'm not feeling good about working with her.

She'd accepted an article I pitched, an awesome thing. Keep in mind that this is the first time I've actually written for them, so I don't know all the policies.

Anyway, we were setting up the interview with the artist I'm writing about. I guess the artist's publicist gave her my email and the editor's email, so the artist wrote us herself to say hi and see what promotional materials we needed. I replied to the artist, cc'ing my editor, and told her what materials I had and what I still needed and gave her my address.

I was really confused when I got an email back from my editor saying that she was tired of people thinking she's always at her computer, and isn't she allowed to go grocery shopping and make dinner and have a life outside her work, etc. She said something about writers getting impatient and expecting her to be at her desk at all times.

I had no idea how she got that out of what I'd thought was a courteous, professional email. I wrote back and apologized for what must have been a miscommunication and said that of course I hadn't expected her to respond right away and I was sorry if she got that out of my email.