AW Amazon Store

If this site is helpful to you,
Please consider a voluntary subscription to defray ongoing expenses.

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Thread: [Contest] The Screenwriter Dig

Board Visitor

Angry [Contest] The Screenwriter Dig

Ok, first things first. I know other people disagree, but I quite like screenwriting competitions. I'm just a hobbyist, so it gives me a deadline to work towards. As long as the competition doesn't pretend that they will turn me into the next Steven Spielberg, then I figure I'm probably getting my money's worth.

But this one smells badly.

www.thescreenwriterdig.com & www.xraymedia.com

For a start, this is how the company describes to the competition in their press release to the stock market :
    The new [income] projection includes ... $1.6 million from 'The Screenwriter Dig' ... Revenue is expected to be generated by submission fees ranging from $10 up to $29 per submission

Let's do some maths. $1.6 million divided by about $30 gives over 53,000 entries.

Edited to add:
    Another press release is even more specific:
    Designed to generate significant revenues for XRAYMEDIA, the Company is very excited about the launch of this exciting, high profile competition. Projected contest submissions are over 150,000 for the first year of the competition

They claim that their team of 'professional reviewers' will evaluate all 150,000 entries in the one month between entries closing and them announcing the final 100 entries ! (Experience shows that about 90% of the submissions will arrive in the last week)

I mentioned this on another board, and someone who runs their own screenwriting competition observed that it takes a couple of months to properly evaluate about 500 scripts that their competition garners.