How do you extroverts get yourself to sit down and write?

Status
Not open for further replies.

android415

Registered
Reaction score
Bit of an odd question.

I'm a writer, but I am also an extrovert (don't know if this is rare or not, haha).

I sometimes find it very hard to convince myself to sit down and write, even if a story is just begging to burst free. I don't like to just "sit down" at any other time, if I do I feel restless.

Anyone like this? What's the cure (unless the cure is some extreme self-discipline...)?

Gilroy Cullen

Handsome servant of a redhead
Registered
Reaction score
Website
swordsvspens.blogspot.com
Bit of an odd question.

I'm a writer, but I am also an extrovert (don't know if this is rare or not, haha).

I sometimes find it very hard to convince myself to sit down and write, even if a story is just begging to burst free. I don't like to just "sit down" at any other time, if I do I feel restless.

Anyone like this? What's the cure (unless the cure is some extreme self-discipline...)?

Well, they have an option out where you dictate into a recorder, then use voice recognition to put it into the computer, though you might need to print to edit, if you can't sit at the keyboard.

It would allow movement, while still having creative output.

One person from Maryland during NaNo used to dictate his book while he drove to and from work. (2 hour trip each way) Then he'd upload each night. Think he hit something like 900,000 words that way...? Don't remember any more.

Haggis

Evil, undead Chihuahua
Registered
Reaction score
Just think of it as the dues you have to pay in order to be able to do book signings and readings. ;)

IDGS

@LeaveItToIan
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.iandgsandusky.com
I'm in the same boat as OP.

It really just comes down to how badly you want it. If you want to get the book down, you'll do it. If not, you'll find an excuse.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Bit of an odd question.