suggestions

padnar

Registered
Reaction score
My mc is an Indian her husband divorces her saying that as he is a citizen he does not want her . he married her only for citizenship.
My mc wows that she will deport him to India how can she do it any suggestions and thanks

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
What country?

If it's the US, and the MC has proof that the marriage was just to gain entry into the US, then, I believe, that is automatic grounds for deportation. I'm no expert however. I know the INS has rules about such things.

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
For the US, here's a brief summary of the standard:

Question 5. What is the standard for revoking citizenship based on misstatements? Does this standard differ from the standard for denying an application based on a misstatement?

Answer. The INS may seek denaturalization based on a showing that the naturalized person has given false testimony for the purpose of obtaining a benefit under the INA. The INS need not prove the materiality of such false testimony, but must show that the misrepresentation was made with the subjective intent of obtaining immigration benefits. The testimony in question must have been an oral statement made under oath. The INS must prove its complaint by clear, unequivocal and convincing evidence. See Part II(B) above.

Alternatively, the INS may seek denaturalization based upon a showing that the naturalized person procured naturalization by concealment of a material fact or by willful misrepresentation. Proof of the materiality of the misrepresentation or concealment is required. Again, the INS must prove its complaint by clear, unequivocal and convincing evidence. See Part III above.