Am I still a debut author to agents if I'm self-published?

LiMeiLing

Registered
Reaction score
I self-published one of my novels, but I'm still sending a different book out to agents. The self-published one hasn't really taken off, so I don't really bother to mention it in my query letters. I've generally heard that agents only care about these things if they're doing well. This is fine with me, but I used to say I was a debut author, and now I guess that's not true? I haven't been saying this in my queries anymore, but I always felt it was a good explanation of why I don't have much of a writer's bio. So, is it still okay to say I'm a debut author to agents, or would this be misrepresenting myself?

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
I self-published one of my novels, but I'm still sending a different book out to agents. The self-published one hasn't really taken off, so I don't really bother to mention it in my query letters. I've generally heard that agents only care about these things if they're doing well. This is fine with me, but I used to say I was a debut author, and now I guess that's not true? I haven't been saying this in my queries anymore, but I always felt it was a good explanation of why I don't have much of a writer's bio. So, is it still okay to say I'm a debut author to agents, or would this be misrepresenting myself?

There is no reason to ever include the term 'debut author' in a query letter. Ever.

'Debut author' is a marketing term that publishers use when promoting a book or author. It's also very squishy and often applied to writers who have been published before. A friend of mine with 12 published adult books was labelled as a 'debut author' when his first children's book came out; not 'debut children's author', mind you, but 'debut author'.