I could use some help identifying my grammatical problems.

Shirokirie

*Leers at you awkwardly*
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Title says it all.

In response to feedback that I'm not very... grammatically passable or satisfying as a writer, I'd just like to ask if someone would be so kind as to help me identify problems in my SYW submissions. Mostly so that I can go and do some online search-learning in hopes of improvement.

Frankly I have no idea what the issues are because I have no idea what everyone is talking about since I'm not very G-savvy. Obviously. <_<

Them: You have grammatical issues in your writing!
Me: Okay! *attempts to fix* Is this better?
Them: No, you're still confusing your adverbs with your adjectives and your nouns with your pronouns.
Me: ... What's a pronoun?

So yeah, thanks.

You don't have to explain anything, like I said, self-learning and all. I just need to know where to start.

Okay so. Longer Sample is this post (No you do not have to read it all) and Shorter Samples are in this post.

Final note:
This isn't a critique thing. I'm not asking for feedback on the writing. I'm asking where should I direct my learning capabilities as regards grammar. And stuff.

Thanks again! :)

fadeaccompli

here and there again
Registered
Reaction score
I think that if people are pointing out grammatical problems in general, repeatedly, rather than already identifying a specific issue, you probably want to do an overview of grammar. Going over stuff you already know will be fast and easy and encouraging, and you're much less likely to miss important stuff that just didn't come up in those particular samples, that way.

There are lots of good basic books on English grammar for writers; I'll let someone else do the recommending, as there aren't any specific ones that I've worked with recently enough to feel comfortable naming them as a good resource.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score