PDA

View Full Version : So who, exactly, is a "writer"...?

Barbarique
07-22-2007, 04:36 AM

The Grift
07-22-2007, 04:53 AM
If Douglas Adams has taught us anything, it is that it is all about the question.

"What do you do for a living?"

"What do you do for fun?"

"Do you have any creative outlets?"

"What are your passions?"

One writer might say "I'm a writer," to one of those, another to all of them, and still others to only some. And there are many other questions just like that which may or may not be answered "I'm a writer."

I would make a sweeping generalization that most people in America classify a person by their vocation, that is to say whatever it is they do that earns a living. Students are given a little more leeway, because even when they are pursuing liberal arts, they are at least enrolled in school which is seen as a way to GET to a useful money-making occupation. Therefore it is much easier to call someone in college a writer or artist or musician when they aren't making any money off of it. Unfortunately, once someone enters "the real world," calling oneself any sort of artist when it is not your vocation seems to bring up the questions about what your actual job is. The fact of the matter is that people are defined by their jobs in today's America. So as a broad answer to your question, I would say anyone who strings words together for dissemination where the words themselves are the purpose of the product, and gets paid for the product, is someone who the rest of society would agree with if they called themselves writers. As for me, I believe anyone who identifies themself with their own tendency towards putting words on paper and wishes to call themselves a writer, is in fact a writer.

Silver King
07-22-2007, 05:09 AM
I cooked dinner, but I'm not a chef.

I fixed my car, but I'm not a mechanic.

I took people fishing, but I'm not a charter guide.

I remodeled my house, but I'm not a contractor.

I stopped the leak, but I'm not a plumber.