Fedex/UPS/DHL ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MightyScribbler

Registered
Reaction score
Ok, I'm new to the FedEx/UPS/DHL. I've sent packages through them before, but they're always things that get signed for. I'll probably use FedEx to send a full. What do I ask for? I want it to get there, I don't want anyone to have to sign for it, but I want confirmation or a tracking number of some kind.

Or should I just use flat rate priority mail from the regular post office?

Tirjasdyn

Outline Maven
Registered
Reaction score
Website
michellejnorton.com
Use the fedex.com website. You can do it all online there and arrange for them to pick it up if you don't know where a drop box is.

Or you can go to a mail box etx store or other mailing store and have them do it for you, but it might cost more.

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Did the local post office go out of business? ;)

My understanding is the same as yours, that many agents and publishers dislike having to sign for packages, so you're wise to stay away from that. If what you want is tracking and perhaps insurance, the post office has both and costs substantially less than the private package companies.

Maryn, who sends packages to her kids and was amazed at the cost difference between UPS and the USPS

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha
Grumpy editor here...

If this is an overdue MS well past its deadline, then use FedEx, but make sure you instruct that it does not need to be signed for. There is a tiny little box to check and the person waiting on you can point it out.