Author-Agent Go-Between?

hstgirl

Registered
Reaction score
I'm an editor who's been asked to not only edit a novel, but to do all the work involved in selling the manuscript to an agent or publisher. Is there an actual title for something like this? The closest I could find is an Acquisition Editor, but I don't work for a publisher, nor do I have any connections to agents or publishing houses.

The problem is that compensation for editorial services is cut and dry, but I have no idea what kind of compensation I should ask for for doing the rest. I'll be continually revising the novel; creating the cover letters, queries, synopses, etc; researching agents and publishers and other marketing information; formatting and submitting the manuscript, including printing hard copies to those requiring it; then acting as agent between the author and lit. agent or publisher through-out the entire process. This is a lot of work.

Are there people out there that do this as a service?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Katrina S. Forest

Registered
Reaction score
Website
katrinasforest.com
I'm an editor who's been asked to not only edit a novel, but to do all the work involved in selling the manuscript to an agent or publisher. Is there an actual title for something like this? The closest I could find is an Acquisition Editor, but I don't work for a publisher, nor do I have any connections to agents or publishing houses.

The problem is that compensation for editorial services is cut and dry, but I have no idea what kind of compensation I should ask for for doing the rest. I'll be continually revising the novel; creating the cover letters, queries, synopses, etc; researching agents and publishers and other marketing information; formatting and submitting the manuscript, including printing hard copies to those requiring it; then acting as agent between the author and lit. agent or publisher through-out the entire process. This is a lot of work.