A few copyright questions

LogMatt

Registered
Reaction score
This is my first book, so please excuse me if my questions sound a bit ignorant. I got handed a book deal, so I'm working backwards a little bit here.

Firstly, from what I understand, public court documents can be reprinted without any additional permissions. Is this correct?

Also, if I were to quote say a line from a comic book, since that is copyrighted do I need permission? Should I expect to have to pay for that?

Thanks for any insight!

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
It's always dodgy asking random strangers for legal advice.

Your agent or publisher should be able to answer your questions. If they can't, then ask yourself if they really know what they're doing.

I'll give you my opinion, but with the usual caveats: I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice, do not rely on it, and if you're considering doing any of these things then get proper, professional advice.

This is my first book, so please excuse me if my questions sound a bit ignorant. I got handed a book deal, so I'm working backwards a little bit here.

Firstly, from what I understand, public court documents can be reprinted without any additional permissions. Is this correct?

That's not my understanding. I thought you could quote from them, so long as you have permission to do so, and cite your sources appropriately.

Also, if I were to quote say a line from a comic book, since that is copyrighted do I need permission? Should I expect to have to pay for that?

Thanks for any insight!

If you're putting quotes into things which are going to be published then it's usual to get permission prior to publication. Yes, there are usually charges for such permissions.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score