Getting into the publishing industry

Ruby_Red

Registered
Reaction score
I have a legal background (I studied law and then worked for a law firm for two years after completing my master's degree, and I also teach law on an ongoing basis). I am, however, very interested in learning more about book publishing, and in particular career options in the Editorial department.

I have had a passion for reading (mostly classic fiction) from a young age, so it is not just a fleeting interest or short-lived curiosity about the world of books driving my decision to consider a career in publishing. I also enjoy editing and anything that involves writing (articles, essays, etc), revising language, and exploring different ways of conveying points. Although I don't have any direct experience of publishing, I do have plenty of experience drafting and analysing text as a lawyer, and I also enjoy working with people and negotiating.

I have already started applying to different publishing houses (who have published some of my favourite novels) and asking about work experience, so I can learn more about what Editorial staff really do and to see whether it is for me.

I would really really really appreciate any advice you can give me for my cover letter or just in general about getting into publishing. Thanks in advance!

P.s. I'm not interested in legal book publishing (textbooks and what not).. and on another note I do know an editor in chief of a newspaper and was thinking of asking her if there are any editing/writing opportunities at her newspaper.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
In general, though maaaybe not strictly required, it would help to be in NY, Chicago, TO or the like, and be willing to beg for the chance to work for no money, to earn the opportunity to work for like $30,000/yr. There is no shortage of people who want those jobs and they pay very, very little.