Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel Udin

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.racheludin.com
Acceptance but wants a rewrite.

I'm not quite sure how I feel about that. On one hand, I want the story to read like a slow slice of life (Japanese style) on the other, it is an acceptance.

The suggestions would cut the genre and kinda betray the attempt towards Japanese story telling... (which does not have the annoying open ending nor the long info dumps out of nowhere.)

Ideas about how to handle it professionally? I'm a rookie...

AllieKat

just a writer, unbranded
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thewritinglifeforme.blogspot.com
Do you want this enough to change it? Will you regret it or feel like you've betrayed your story, later? Only you can answer those questions. It's not wrong to change a story as requested, if you can believe in the changes. But if you've the nagging sense of selling your story short, it might be better for it to remain forever unpublished than to change it too much.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
If you don't like it, walk away, but rewrites are a common part of freelancing. Editors need what their particular readers want, which often is not the slant the writer has. This is another very good reason to not write an article until after the editor asks to see it.

Remember, too, that one big trick of successful freelancing is using the same idea for several articles. This editor wants it one way, with one slant, the next will want it another way, with another slant. You can sell to both.

eqb

I write novels
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.claireodell.com
Acceptance but wants a rewrite.

Ideas about how to handle it professionally? I'm a rookie...

If you think you'd regret making those changes, just write back and thank them for their consideration, but you don't feel comfortable making these particular changes for this particular story.