Copy Editing Agreement between a Copy Editor and an author

Javielito

Registered
Reaction score
near a deep sea shrimp and a blackdevil angler fis
Copy Editing Agreement between a Copy Editor and an author

Good morning. I'm an unpublished author from Central America with a copyrighted manuscript in science fiction and military.

I met a friend (from Facebook) that speaks fluent native English and I asked her about copy editing: correct grammar, spelling, punctuation, and other rules of English, plus she will ask me about my story in anything confusing or unclear.

We both want a contract that will allow her to do the work as I wanted, and that will force me (of course, lol) to pay her money.

We are good friends (never met in real life) but we both don't know about a basic contract for.

Besides the money that I will pay her, I also want to grant her the 4% (if the book sells one day) for the copy-editing. What you guys think about this? Opinion...

Please, tell me the stipulations, points, and/or remarks of such contract. or please tell me where I can go to see the model or example of the document.

Thank in advance !

ps:
I don't know if this is the proper place/forum to post this;
please move the thread to the place it may belongs.

Thank again.

Last edited:

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
It's not usual to pay a copy editor a royalty from the book's sales. It's far more usual to pay a flat fee for this work.

And please note that copy-editing involves far more than "correct grammar, spelling, punctuation, and other rules of English". It's a huge job and requires a very specific set of skills; and as such, it's not one that a novice can usually do well.

My feeling is that you'd be far better off finding someone willing to work as your beta-reader, which will usually be done for free or as a swap (you read mine, I'll read yours, for example) than employing this person to edit your work for you.