Prologues ???

sparnols

Registered
Reaction score
I am a newbie to the publishing world. I have written for many years however this is my first try at getting published. I have my MS finished and edited and and I am worried because I have read that prologues are not exsactly favored upon. Yes, I have a prologue and feel my it is needed as I am sure most do when they include one in a novel. The problem I am finding though is how do I write my quiery letter with out the agents feeling like they are rereading part of the same information and getting bored?

Sorry I know I spelled prologues wrong...

Last edited:

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
I am a newbie to the publishing world. I have written for many years however this is my first try at getting published. I have my MS finished and edited and and I am worried because I have read that prologues are not exsactly favored upon. Yes, I have a prologue and feel my it is needed as I am sure most do when they include one in a novel. The problem I am finding though is how do I write my quiery letter with out the agents feeling like they are rereading part of the same information and getting bored?

Sorry I know I spelled prologues wrong...

Why would they feel they are rereading part of the same information? The query is supposed to give an overview of the whole story, not just the beginning. And if the prologue is giving an overview of the whole story... it might not be necessary.

So, either I'm misunderstanding the information you're putting in the query or your prologue may not be doing you any favors.

ChaosTitan

Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kellymeding.com
Your prologue is not included in your query letter. The query contains a brief summary/blurb of what your novel is about. If the agent requests you include the first five or ten pages as part of the query, use pages from Chapter One, not the prologue. The prologue can be sent along as part of a full manuscript request.