Contracts

Melanie

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

I apologize in advance if this subject has been talked about somewhere else on the board and that I'm at wrong by starting a new thread, but I looked around and couldn't quite find answers to my questions.

I started my queries about 1 month ago and I got a few requests for full manuscript. I am therefore hoping for the best. But I am a newbie and I want to make sure I am prepare. So here is a little listed of questions I have if you guys can help me out.

1st: What are the main lines my contract with an agent should mentioned?
For the rights? Timeline allowed to sale my book? If it doesn't work and we want to part ways? and anything else I can't think of because I am a newbie.

2nd: pretty much the same question but once I sign with a publisher? Which rights do I give and keep?

3rd: If I get an agent and it doesn't work out, can I later on ask another agent to represent the same book or that book is done and dead?

4th: If my book get published by a smaller publisher, later on can it be sale to a bigger publisher?

I appreciate your help. I just don't want to sign a contract and be stuck in the future and lose all my chances with that book.

Thanks

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Melanie,

Welcome to the Cooler!

First, let me ask you if you've vetted the agents which have made requests. There are some rather glaring mistakes in your post, and while that doesn't mean they're indicative of your normal writing (we all get flustered in the beginning and let our fingers overrun our brains), it's a concern. PLEASE make sure you've checked the agents out thoroughly so you don't get scammed. If they ask you for money or want you to pay an editor they recommend, RUN AWAY.

If you have checked them out, then ignore paragraph one and go on to the quoted area.

Hi,

1st: What are the main lines my contract with an agent should mentioned?