Advice on Editing options.

amlptj

Speling & grammer murderer, Sorrie!
Registered
Reaction score
Hi, So I asked a similar sort of question way back when I joined, but I've learned a lot since then about myself, and about the whole process and business of trying to get published.

A little on myself. I've been writing my series for almost 10 years now, sadly because of my several severe learning disorders its impossible for me to correct my own work. Not just my own, any.(And please understand that I worked my ass off to try and fix everything myself. I've been working for the last four years on it, so its not just me being lazy or not working hard enough) So naturally having written a 125K book there are more then a fair share of problems. A special computer program i own has fixed about 97% of my spelling, but its not the best with grammar. A big problem of mine is punctuation. Because of that I even have a very hard time finding beta readers because they find it challenging to read when there are barely any comma's in the entire book.

So now i'm looking into editorial services and options. Because its becoming a daily depressing struggle to think you put all this work in writing and re-writing a book that you cant even query because you dont really have other people's view on it, and because you cant get the manuscript in a final Ready condition.

So I've tried looking up editing services but lets say the low range is about $1,500 that would be a whole year of my wages. (I'm a full time college student) Next i tried bribing friends and strangers to do it, I have one person lined up! But i'm worried that when they see the full extent of the condition its in, they will quickly quit, like others have before. (And i wouldnt blame them if they did honestly) But that would still leave me back at square one.