Photos of publicly displayed art: copyright?

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
For a travel memoir I'm playing with, I have some pictures of publicly displayed art (it's in a sculpture park with no prohibitions on photography) that I'd like to use. I took the photos, so they're mine, but would I need the permission of the artist to include the photos in a manuscript?

People do it in blogs all the time, so I imagine I wouldn't need permission but I was curious about how that's handled.

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
Don't assume because blogs do it it's legal.

I believe your own photographs of artworks old enough to be out of copyright may be used as illustrations. IANAL, however.

Last edited:

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer either, but I'm pretty sure that all rights to display the art in photographic form belong to whoever owns the art.

I know there have been many take-down notices from major museums sent to those who were collecting images of a certain artist or a certain art style or period. (At one time I hoped to amass enough Rembrandt images for a screen saver, but site after site had empty spaces where images had one been shown, with wording stating that it had been removed at the demand of the rights holder. Same thing happened with another artist.)

Blogs which don't make a profit might warrant a blind eye, but selling a book with such photographs probably merits asking an attorney, even thought that won't be free.

Maryn, thinking safe beats the hell out of sorry

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
I'm not a lawyer either, but I'm pretty sure that all rights to display the art in photographic form belong to whoever owns the art.