Fixing an Oops?

Emberchyld

Hanging out in Medieval Castles
Registered
Reaction score
Website
isabelbandeira.blogspot.com
After hitting send (and multiple re-reads and double checks of the query that I WAS sending), I realized that I had made a spelling error on a name in my query.

--Not the agent's name, THANK GOODNESS, but I had referenced one of her authors and how fans of that author may enjoy my story (and, even more embarassingly, I'm a HUGE fan of the author, which is why this is even more painful to admit.) I guess my eyes glossed over familiar words and spell check wouldn't catch the error-- whatever the reason, I messed up.

Do I write a quick e-mail to apologize for the misspelling, or do I just do what I have been doing (and hope wonderagent doesn't penalize me for my oops?) In my non-writing profession, I normally would have followed up with an apologetic e-mail, but I'm new to the querying process and don't know the rules.

Thank you in advance for any replies!

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
It happens all the time. Agents accept queries with their name spelled wrong, with a Mr instead of a Ms, with another agent's name in the header. They know you're human and mistakes happen. Those little mistakes might hurt slightly, but they're mostly looking at the body of the query and the attached materials for their decision.

Emberchyld

Registered
Reaction score
Website
Oh, thank you! It's even more embarassing because I chose to query this agent in part due to how much this one author praises her... and then, I misspell the author's name. *facepalm*

Feeling more relieved now...

Britwriter

Registered
Reaction score
I think there is just a universal law or something. The moment you hit 'Send', even after reading, checking, and triple checking a query, you'll notice something wrong.