How to Query Agent from Overseas

Vemy Paw

Registered
Reaction score
Please forgive me if my questions are frequently asked, but I have searched the forum and found no answer, maybe because I can't find the right key word :)

Since now many agents accept email query, it's easier to query an agent from overseas. If I do that, do I have to mention to the agent that I live overseas? Or that I don't have the same citizenship as the agent? Or is doing this a big no-no (querying agent from another country)?

And then, if it's doable and the agent accepts the query, what happen? (I mean about communications, payment, tax, etc)

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
Loads of writers have agents in a different country.

In the query say something like "I am a xxxx-based writer"

Communication with your agent is almost all by e-mail so it doesn't matter how far away you are.

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score
I live in Canada and queried agents in Germany. All communication was by email, even though a couple of the agents I queried stated on their websites that they only accepted manuscripts by mail. I signed my initial pitch with my full mailing address and phone number, so it was immediately obvious where I live.

When I got an offer, we talked on the phone and then they emailed me the contract, which I printed out, signed, scanned and emailed back to them. Since then, we've been communicating via email.
In case they find a publisher *sigh*, I could use a German bankaccount if I had one, or else they'll transfer the money to my Canadian account.
As far as taxes go, you'll probably have to figure that one out yourself. If your agency rep's somebody else in your country, they may already know what the rules are. Otherwise you get to talk to the tax people - always such fun ;)

Good luck!

Bron

Registered
Reaction score