Getting started with Freelancing?

MamaStrong

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I've looked at about 3-4 pages of threads in this section and haven't come across what I'm looking for. I think it's because I'm weird or my ideas are.

I want to write novels and have a few ideas floating around that I'll be starting soon. I completed NaNoWriMo last month and it only showed me that writing is something I really want to do.

However, I don't have much "experience" and I've gotten the impression that some experience would be good to have when I begin searching for an agent or publisher for my novels. Is this true?

I've wanted to write this article for a Parenting Magazine for a few months now, and will be working on that for the rest of this month. Would this be good to have in my writing portfolio? How hard is it to get an article published, if you're not a steady writer for the Magazine?

Please forgive me for any questions that don't make sense. I'm still learning and holding myself back from totally jumping in, as I know if I take the plunge before I'm educated, I could drown.

Thanks in Advance!

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score
However, I don't have much "experience" and I've gotten the impression that some experience would be good to have when I begin searching for an agent or publisher for my novels. Is this true?

No, not really. While it doesn't hurt to have published some articles or short stories, it's your novel that has to convince an agent or publisher to sign you on. If your manuscript doesn't convince them, you can have all the articles or short stories you want and it won't help since that's not what the publisher will be selling.

So depending on what you actually want to achieve, you may be better off concentrating on whipping your novel into shape than trying to get a foot in the door with magazines. Getting a start in freelancing can be hard, as hard as finding an agent for your novel.